A Page From Mary Lu's World

Sharing Life With Others

Being Blessed Through Developing Relationships

on October 4, 2014

One thing that I have always been passionate about (even before I knew what that really meant) is real relationships and connecting with people.  I hope you’ve had that happen before with an instant connection to someone who gets excited about the same things that you do. I want to tell you about some amazing things that have happened for me over the past few months.

As many of you know we moved to Virginia in the Spring.  This move was one we felt was directed by God and we made the leap of faith.  After we got here I realized I had been given everything I had asked for…a low stress job and being near my parents.  Then I started asking “why isn’t that enough?”

Life is “iBlooming”

I am a HUGE fan of the folks at iBloom who have been an encouragement to me for several years through social media.  After watching one of their webinars I signed up to take a course in social media management.  I have experience managing social media platforms from my work at WSPA-TV and my own personal pages, I thought this would be a natural fit.  What I’ve learned about myself is so much greater.

The group of women that I am taking the class with are over the top AMAZING!  We have ladies at every level: those like me who want to start a business, some who have an established business and want to grow their social media, and others who want to be able to teach social media skills to others. I have been very fortunate to be in groups of loving women before but this is so much more.  We all interact in our Facebook group sharing ideas and information.  We have an incredible teacher, Dr. Jennifer Bennett, who is so down to earth and passionate about sharing her talents with us. What is so unique is that we share the same passion for helping people.

Special Connections

Through this group I’ve become friends with a very special lady, Tracy Barse, who is the Co-founder and Director of Marketing with FindGreatCompanies.com.  Tracy and I have forged a strong bond where I will be able to help her with her business as a way to gain experience with clients in social media.  Her business is so fascinating because her organization has found a way to help any size business to promote themselves online.  (To my friends who own businesses you really need to check this out.)

Getting Graphic

One area where I’ve been particularly drawn to is making graphics for social media.  I have always liked to take pictures and my mom (very wisely) has been telling me that I need to find a way to use this talent.  Through the class and encouragement from people like Tracy I started using different programs to build graphics.  I am having so much fun.  My mind whirls about almost 24/7 with ideas of things that I can put together.  I’ve been making graphics for Tracy’s businesses.  What a thrill when I see something I created on a business social media page.

fgc

Today I had the chance to speak with Sue Graber a representative of SendOutCards. Tracy connected us because she thought there might be a way to incorporate my pictures and graphics into cards.  If you haven’t had the chance to see what SendOutCards is all about please check it out.  In the comfort of your own home you can pick cards to send a ship to anyone.  I’m particularly interested in their Sendcere division where I can post my creations and other people may choose to send them! Sue has a heart for helping people and we will likely work together on some projects in the future. I find it really fascinating that my friend Leslie Coty sent me a card from SendOutCards a couple of weeks ago.  I think that God was trying to tell me something.

I am very grateful for all that has happened in my life since March.  Seeing all of the little pieces falling in place here and there is extraordinary.  Being excited about life and open to the possibilities is simply the best.

I’d love to hear from you about some of these special moments when God has connected you with people that inspire and help you be better. I encourage you to take a peek at the links in this article.  You might find yourself “blooming where you are planted!”

Blessings to you,

Mary Lu

2 responses to “Being Blessed Through Developing Relationships

  1. I love what you’re doing and what God is doing in and through you! It is exciting and sounds like a lot of fun. I’m just a wee bit jealous because I have no time to pursue any creative endeavors right now. Maybe someday… By the way, we have a new President/CEO at MissionNext; we’re all pretty excited about meeting Robert Werntz at our Staff Retreat next week in PHX.

Leave a Reply

