A Page From Mary Lu's World

Sharing Life With Others

Yummy things and feeling crummy

on February 8, 2014

This has been another week of ups and downs.  I was able to get out and walk and enjoy some of the nicer temperatures through the week.  When we hit Wednesday I knew something was about to change. My sinuses started to burn and yes, I came down with a terrible cold.  I’m working hard trying to get rid of it.  I knew it would be hard to beat because my husband has had it for over a week. Who has time for slow downs??

Last weekend I made the yummiest (is that a word?) salmon salad with Tyger River Smart Farms lettuce. I picked up our weekly supply at The Grain Loft in Greer.  Have I mentioned how tender and delectable the lettuce is?  You must try it.

salmon salad

The Weight Loss

I lost one pound this week. I will admit that I haven’t done the best job of keeping on task with the diet.  Our God is one of second, third, and infinite chances.  He knows I’m working on it. He loves me and every day is a new chance to succeed!

Find of the week

One of the things I’ve missed a little is candy on The Daniel Plan.  I was inspired by a recipe I found while scrolling through Facebook one night.  It is also a slight take off of a recipe in the The Daniel Plan which calls for dipping frozen banana halves in very dark chocolate and then rolling them in nuts.

My version is cutting bananas into 1/2 to 3/4 slices and place them on a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet.  Then put a little bit of natural peanut or almond butter between two slices and make a little sandwich. (This gets tricky with the natural peanut butter because the slices want to slide.) I melt a large bar of very dark chocolate (70 to 80%) in a double boiler.  I spoon the chocolate over the banana sandwiches 🙂  If you could stand the wait it probably would be better to freeze the banana sandwiches a little and then coat them or dip them in the chocolate.  After you’ve coated them then pop them in the freezer.  You can eat them after an hour.  After approximately 5 hours you can remove them from the parchment paper and put them in a freezer bag. While I won’t win any awards for presentation THESE ARE SO GOOD! They are extremely satisfying even after you’ve had just one.  It is extremely easy too.

candy

 

Do you have any nifty little treats that you’d like to share?  I’d love to hear from you.

Blessings to you,

Mary Lu

Leave a Reply

