A Page From Mary Lu's World

Sharing Life With Others

The New Year Choice

on January 2, 2014

This is the time of year when most people come up with one or two things that they want to accomplish in the new year. Losing weight, saving money, simplifying life and spending more time with family are usually at the top of people’s agendas.

There is always a lot of discussion about whether resolutions work.  Gyms are full in January of good intentioned folks but by February the numbers start dropping.  Weight Watchers classes see the same results (yes, I’ve been in those too.) Sometimes, life just gets in the way.

This year I’m making a choice

I’m going to try “The Daniel Plan.” Have you heard about it? Pastor Rick Warren assembled medical experts to help his church combat the growing problem of obesity.  I’ve begun reading the book and the idea is that you combine faith, food, fitness, focus, and friends into a lifestyle.

God gave a body to each of us

I haven’t done a good job of taking care of mine.  I love to cook and bake.  I love sharing food with others.  I have tried Weight Watchers several times.  Sometimes it worked better than others.  I don’t have all the answers why it didn’t work in a long-lasting way. Except that I wasn’t devoted to it long-term.  I have no great excuses because I am blessed with a great support system.  My husband is on board with any changes I make and cheers me on.  My parents send me their support.  I’ve had co-workers that have been really super in lending support.

***2014 is the year that I claim this for me! ***

Things I like about what I have read so far

This plan starts with God.  For me, this is the key.  Secondly, you are eating real food not packaged things.  Third, and this one is probably the most impactful the book is full of real stories of people like you and me.  This is all about one pound at a time.

What is it that makes you want to change?

I think you get to a point where you finally want the excess weight to go away.  I wish I could snap my fingers and make it happen.  Guess what?  This didn’t happen overnight and it isn’t going to go away overnight.  Right now, I am going to embrace this challenge and look forward to seeing what it is all about.

The motto or slogan of this plan is pretty savvy: God’s Prescription For Your Health.  God has written this down for me on HIS prescription pad.

I’ve been all through the website for The Daniel Plan and I think this video sums it all up.   Take a look at the treasure trove of information and ways to make changes that aren’t that difficult.

Yep, Mom is right

While reading and researching this plan I realized that someone I care so much about has been on this train for years.  My mom!  She has been cooking with whole foods as well as cutting back on salt and all the bad stuff for years.  That is why she looks amazing.  Dad is healthier too and as a cancer survivor I give her a lot of credit for keeping him that way.  I’ve got the example to learn from…now it is time to get to it!

Dale and I are starting this officially Sunday.  So appropriate that it is God’s day to begin.  If you would like to join in please let us know.  I’ve ordered the DVD set for small group study.  We’d love to have people join us.  Send me a note!

I wish all of you the very best for 2014.  What will your choices/resolutions be?  I’d love to hear from you.

Blessings,

Mary Lu

One response to “The New Year Choice

  1. Linda Harris says:

    Mary Lu – Linwood and I want to join the your group -when and where?

Leave a Reply

